Subsection 6.—Ontario

The Executive Council of Ontario consists of: the Premier, President of the Council and Provincial Treasurer; Minister of Agriculture; Minister of Mines; Attorney General and Minister of Education; Minister of Highways and Minister of Public Works; Minister of Municipal Affairs; Minister of Reform Institutions; Minister of Labour; Provincial Secretary and Registrar; Minister of Health; Minister of Planning and Development; Minister of Public Welfare; Minister of Lands and Forests; Minister of Travel and Publicity; and one Minister without portfolio.

The House of Assembly, the single-chamber Legislature of the Province, is composed of 90 members elected for five years on an adult-suffrage basis.

Besides the regular departments the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, the Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission, the Liquor Control Board and the Liquor Licence Board have been created.

Under the provisions of the Legislative Assembly Amendment Act, 1947 (11 Geo. VI, c. 55), each Member of the Assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$2,000 and an allowance for expenses of \$1,000. The Speaker receives an additional indemnity at the annual rate of \$2,500; the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole an indemnity at the annual rate of \$1,000 and the Leader of the Opposition an additional indemnity of \$3,000 and an annual allowance for expenses of \$2,000. These special indemnities and allowances for the Speaker, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole and Leader of the Opposition are in addition to their indemnities and expense allowances as Members of the Legislature.

Each Member of the Cabinet receives the ordinary indemnity as a Member of the Legislature of \$2,000 plus the \$1,000 expense allowance in addition to his salary as a Member of the Crown. The salary provided for a Cabinet Minister in the Executive Council Act is \$10,000 but at the present time and for some years past each Member of the various Cabinets has voluntarily surrendered \$2,000 annually, drawing \$8,000 each as his Ministerial salary.

19.—Lieutenant-Governors of Ontario, 1867-1950, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-50, and Present Ministry as at June 1, 1950

Note.—See headnote to Table 14, p. 85.

Lieutenant-Governors

Name	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission
Major-Gen. H. W. STISTED. W. P. HOWLAND. JOHN W. CRAWFORD. D. A. MACDONALD. JOHN BEVERLY ROBINSON. SIF ALEXANDER CAMPRELL. SIF GEORGE A. KIRKPATRICK. SIF OLIVER MOWAT. SIF WILLIAM MORTIMER CLARK.	Nov. 5, 1873 May 18, 1875 June 30, 1880 Feb. 8, 1887	Sir John M. Girson. LtCol. Sir John S. Hendrie. Lionel H. Clarke Col. Henry Cockshutt. William Donald Ross. Col. Herrert Alexander Bruce. Albert Matthews! Ray Lawson.	Sept. 22, 1908 Sept. 26, 1914 Nov. 27, 1919 Sept. 10, 1921 Dec. 20, 1926 Oct. 25, 1932 Nov. 23, 1937 Dec. 26, 1946

¹ Term extended November, 1942 to December, 1946.